Heavy AmericA – Motor Honey (Peace)

Heavy AmericA

Boston’s Heavy AmericA comes from the great tradition of progressive rock trios who have held court during every generation of modern music. Other styles, fads, and genres have come and gone over the decades. However, one rock ensemble formula has never lost its power to bang heads. From Blue Cheer, to Rush, to Nirvana… various incarnations of a guitar, bass, and drums threesome have been rocking the world since Leo Fender first plugged in his Stratocaster.

Power trios just seem to rock harder than any other band configuration. Maybe they have more to prove. There can be no slackers in a three-piece. No one gets a break. Every member of the band has to keep his pedal to the metal for the groove survive.

That’s how Heavy AmericA does it. Their new single “Motor Honey (Peace)” is three minutes of overdriven guitar riffs backed by a big, fat, air-tight rhythm section. Lead singer and guitarist Michael T. Seguin runs through an impressive and unceasing barrage of prog-rock guitar licks. Meanwhile Dan Fried (drums) and Budd Lapham (bass) match his energy while holding down the foundation.

The band definitely has a strong 80’s metal influence. There is a bit of early Motley Crue in their sound. However, their style also hints at earlier eras of hard rock. The riff heavy arrangement has a definite 70’s vibe. Further, vocally and lyrically I hear a bit of an Iggy and the Stooges influence as Seguin sings of “hot summer nights,” and blurs the line between love, sex, and cars. In other words… Rock & Roll, baby.

Check out the video for “Motor Honey (Peace)” and follow the links below to connect with Heavy AmericA.





Here is what Heavy AmericA says…

Based in Boston, Massachusetts, the core Heavy AmericA sound finds its influence in a diverse blend of rock idioms, from the expertly performed progressive rock circles to the edgy and incisive sounds of alternate rock rebellion. Blend in a pinch of stoner rock, and the listener has transcended the run of the mill, stagnant musical forms that occupy a good deal of the digital music we hear today.

Yet, Heavy AmericA manages to defy the conveniences of category, presenting an arsenal of sounds and moods while unlocking a natural ability to employ a fiery insurgency across the seemingly endless styles the band works within.

Heavy AmericA is:
Michael T. Seguin, lead vocal & guitar
Dan Fried, drums & vocals
Budd Lapham, bass & vocals

Listen to “Motor Honey (Peace)” on the Deep Indie Dive…