Graffiti Welfare Explores New Revolving Shores

graffiti welfare

Graffiti Welfare is the professional name of emerging multi-instrumentalist producer and songwriter, George Lattimore. He debuted the project in 2016 with the EP Into the Soul of Space. That record introduced a multifaceted and visionary composer who explores the human condition with genre-defying downtempo vibes.

The Denver-based musician refers to his music as psych-pop. However, that is merely the launch point for the wide array of musical styles and sounds that make up the Graffiti Welfare experience. In his songs, trip-hop grooves meet psychedelic moods and provocative poetic personal and sociological observations.

Revolving Shores is the brand new album from Graffiti Welfare, released worldwide via all major streaming services on June 17, 2023.  The record is a ten-track examination of universal mystery and confusion born of coming-of-age in the 21st century. It is a vibe inspired by similarly philosophical chillout rockers like Tame Impala and Pink Floyd.

"The album explores the unknown, meditates on the fleeting nature of life, and pays homage to my grandparents, who passed away during the making of the album."
Graffiti Welfare Explores New Revolving Shores 1
Graffiti Welfare

From the beautiful descending electric piano riff that opens “To Be It” to the percussive synth jam “Seashell”, Revolving Shores is an experience. Musically the record incorporates elements of experimental rock and electronic from across the decades. Each component is a piece of the story, there to subtly enhance the message and the mood.

“Just Follow” is a groovy analog-synth vibe, peppered with some tasty acid-rock guitar and a bit of Taoist philosophy. “DejaBlue” adds some organ and lo-fi beats to the mix. Throughout the record, Lattimore’s vocals fade in and out of view. They are never presented as a lead instrument. Instead, he merely enhances the narrative of the music with single words and phrases delivered in dreamy and often whispering tones.

The retro electronic instrumentation on tunes like “Echoes of our Sound” and the excellent “Nothing Ever Changes”, recall the great Moog pioneers like Wendy Carlos and Mort Garson. Elsewhere, Graffiti Welfare’s sound hints at more recent synth-scientists, like Alan Parsons. There is also plenty of rock mixed amidst the electronica. “Volume” opens with an indie intro before landing on a funky percussive groove, while the deeply layered “Missing The War” spins all of these pieces together into a darkly psychedelic rock epic.

Check out the “DejaBlue” video below. You can also hear that song and “Nothing Changes” on the Deep Dive : Chill playlist. Or listen to the entire Revolving Shores album on your favorite streaming service. Follow the links below to connect with Graffiti Welfare.

Connect with Graffiti Welfare