AGBAT Drops New LP ‘Darkest Parts’


AGBAT is a genre-bending heavy metal duo who made their professional recording debut in 2020 with the single “E.L.E”. That track introduced the multi-instrumentalist songwriting and production team of Sondre Skar Selsvik and Christopher Erik Knight. The group is signed to Lazy S’ Records from their hometown of Øystese Norway.

Since their debut, AGBAT has released a string of singles, each track exploring a new avenue of the band’s eclectic mix of metal, alternative, progressive rock and electronica. Regular readers of The Static Dive will remember tracks like “Hopeless” and “Find Out“. We have followed the group as they laid the foundation for their debut album. The wait is finally over.

Darkest Parts is the debut full-length album from AGBAT, released worldwide via all major streaming services on February 28, 2023. The 11-song collection includes all seven of the band’s previously released singles, as well as four new tracks. However, the record is much more than a simple collection of singles.

Listened to in its entirety, Darkest Parts presents as a cohesive modern epic. AGBAT’s signature genre-bending style and metal foundation are the threads that tie these songs together. From the syncopated rhythms of prog-rock anthem “Defined” to the industrial vibes of “Hopeless” and the genre-hopping and hard-as-nails “Find Out”, the record has a natural flow.

There is a lyrical theme at work here as well. AGBAT’s music is heavy, but nuanced. Rather than conform to heavy metal genre norms, they freely mix musical styles as needed. They take the same approach lyrically. Shunning the traditionally dark themes of most heavy metal, their songs offer uplifting messages of encouragement, hope and perseverance.

“P.T.S.D” is one of the four new tracks on Darkest Parts. The melodic modern rocker examines the effects of trauma with a wall of power chords and some very cool rhythmic experimentation. The album’s title track “Darkest Parts” goes hard with a Tool-meets-Evanescence groove for an anthem of self-reliance. 

“Bear the Weight ” opens on an melancholy acoustic guitar/vocal intro before the beat lands on an emotional power ballad with a 90’s singer/songwriter alt-rock vibe. “Walk it Dry” is the fourth new track on the LP. The song pairs percussive NIN-synths with a groovy and hard melodic metal funk for an emotionally complicated tale of healing.

Check out Darkest Parts in its entirety below, or listen on your favorite streaming service. You can also hear the songs “Bear the Weight” and “Defined” on the Deep Indie Dive playlist. Follow the links below to connect with AGBAT. Get on their socials and get in the loop on all of the music to come from this talented and hard rocking duo.

Connect with AGBAT